Bittersweet Anniversaries

It’s been almost two years now since my mother died. I got just a bit of a smile out of the pop-up email reminder from FTD that today would have been her birthday. As if I’d ever forget. Not a morning goes by that I don’t miss her or a night when I don’t send her my love before I go to sleep, especially on her birthday. No matter where in the world I made my home, no matter whether the two of us were speaking or feuding, I never forgot her birthday. There was one time I refused to acknowledge it, done in a mean-spirited attempt to hurt her, but I never forgot what day it was.

I wish I could take back that nastiness now, when I can no longer call her to tell her Happy Birthday. When I can’t make it up to her anymore or tell her that I’m sorry for hurting her. Because I know I did. That’s the kind of family we are. We’re close, and small things make a huge impression, for good or otherwise. That action still makes me cringe with shame, especially since she often told me how proud she was of the person I was becoming. Was I trying to prove her wrong? Or was I just not able at that point to be the person she saw? The regrets are endless, no matter that I felt justified at the time.

On this anniversary of my mother’s birth, I woke up remembering this instance for some reason. The sadness of the day weighed heavily already, and this memory made it just that much harder to set the ache aside. But Mom told me something once after I’d gone through a particularly ugly time in my life. She said there’s nothing you can do about the past except get past it. Regrets don’t help. Anger at yourself, remorse, guilt feelings – none of those will ease your sorrow over what has gone before. You can only go forward. Pretty smart lady, my mom, right?

The more I think about that, the more I see how wise her words were. I can’t change the things that happened, and since she’s gone now, I can’t let her know how much I didn’t like being that person then. But I can sure go forward and stop beating myself up about it. I can resolve to be the “me” Mom always knew I was. This day should be all about the celebration of my mother’s life, not about all the things left unsaid. Remembering the best of her (and of me when I was with her), that’s what her birthday should bring to mind.

So Happy Birthday, Mom. Thank you for being my mother.  I love you so very much.

Leave a comment